Padlet in a Second Grade Classroom

A couple of weeks ago I was introduced to Padlet, a social network that allows for many people to post at the same time. This allows for collaboration and students instantly see their responses on the main screen. We used padlet at a staff professional development to engage our audience with the essential question for the training. I was then intrigued to use this social network in my classroom.

Here is an overview of the use with my second grade students:

Personal Narrative Brainstorming

  • Background: We are learning about good citizens in our communities and how to be a good citizen. We are also writing personal narrative stories and some students are having a hard time coming up with a real life example
  • Padlet Activity:
    • I posed the question – What makes a good citizen?
    • The students worked in groups of 3-4 to give examples of good citizens.
    • We then sorted the ideas by common theme.
    • Students used the brainstorming ideas to plan a good citizen personal narrative.
  • Pros / Cons:
    • Pro: ALL students could participate.
    • Pro: Students were actively engaged in the brainstorming.
    • Con: There were a lot of similar ideas, even when students saw the same idea they still wanted to brainstorm their idea.
  • Overall: I was impressed with the student’s use of the social network as well as the groups of 3-4 working together.

Morning Work Question

  • Background: I want to morning work activities that can be used for morning meeting.
  • Padlet Activity:
    • Students individually responded to a morning work prompt.
  • Pros / Cons:
    • Pro: Students discussed response at morning meeting.
    • Pro: Students had an audience for the question.
    • Con: Not all students participated (late arrivals, breakfast eaters).
    • Con: I only had 4 available pieces of technology at the time.
    • Con: Some students typed for over 20 minutes. We only have 20 minutes for the whole class to respond.
  • Overall: The students wanted to share their responses, but I need to find a way to enhance/focus the morning work question.

Addition and Subtraction Strategies 

  • Background: I needed to find an activity to review the addition and subtraction strategies that we had learned in the classroom. I wanted the students to be able to practice the strategy that they felt most comfortable with and then share that strategy with the class.
  • Padlet Activity:
    • Students were randomly placed in groups of 2-3.
    • The student choose a teen total addition equation.
    • They brainstormed a strategy to use to solve the problem.
    • They decided how to present the problem (video, photograph, whiteboard, modeling).
  • Pros / Cons:
    • Pro: ALL students could participate.
    • Pro: Students had a choice in their delivery method.
    • Pro: Students worked with each other to create the product.
    • Pro: The students were actively engaged in the activity.
    • Con: Some students could not get the program to load their videos and became frustrated when they lost the video.
  • Overall:
    • My students were very excited to share their strategies and wanted to learn more from the other examples.

Daily 5 Comprehension Questions

  • Background: I want my students to be engaged in authentic comprehension tasks. We were reviewing asking and answering questions
  • Padlet Activity:
    • I read aloud a grade level guided reading text.
    • The students were randomly grouped in pairs.
    • Each pair had a copy of the text and an ipad.
    • The students had to create 3 questions based on the text – they could pose the question any way.
  • Pros / Cons:
    • Pro: All students could participate and had read/heard the text.
    • Pro: Students could pose the question in their own way as well as give clues to the answer.
    • Con: Most students were not engaged in the activity.
    • Con: In most pairs, 1 student took the lead and the other student sat and watched as the assignment was completed.
  • Overall: I felt that my students spent more time working with the technology then creating questions about the text. I think more time needs to be spent discussing what group work looks like when writing comprehension questions.

My students enjoyed the use of padlet and I was very impressed with their use of the social network in such a short time. I am looking forward to integrating this into my centers and even ask for my students input for activities to use with padlets.

*Have you used padlet in your classroom?

*How do your students work together in groups?

*What activity did you enjoy the most when using padlet?

2 thoughts on “Padlet in a Second Grade Classroom

  1. I really like all the different ways you have incorporated padlet into your classroom, especially over different content areas. I have only introduced it in Kindergarten, but of course it looks a lot different. I think as educators, it’s really important for us to reflect on our teaching and recognize the pros and cons of each activity. One thing that seems common is the lack of technology within each classroom. but I think you have used your resources to the best of your ability by placing your students in groups. I’m interested in hearing about the rest of your year with padlet!

    Like

  2. Wow! What a neat resource to bring into your classroom! I too have used this during professional developments and staff meetings. It easier since each teacher has an ipad or we share with a partner. How many ipads do you have in your room? We have a laptop cart in our classroom…very few of them work…and are very slow, but we do have an ipad cart in the K-1 hallway that we share. In the past, I have used ipads for a math or literacy center, but I have not brought them out yet for this class. I am a little skeptical about having my class this year use ipads, but I really like how engaging Padlet is. I liked how you used it to practice math strategies. I think my kids could work in partners and type responses to questions really well. Definitely something I would like to try out when we’re back in school! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

